Ansa FAQ


Hi. Thanks for stopping by. If you have a question, or need support with Ansa, feel free to email us at [email protected] or browse our frequently asked questions below.

What is Ansa?

Ansa is a private messenger that gives you control of the things you share. With options to chat off the record so no trace of a conversation is left behind, send self destructing photos and videos, and erase messages shared with friends in the past, you always have the tools to express yourself freely.

Why Ansa?

Ansa is the safest place to be yourself and communicate with friends. With Ansa, you have all the features of a rich-media messenger with the added benefit of control.

Does Ansa cost money?

No. It's 100% free. Enjoy!

Where can I get updates about Ansa?

We share news about Ansa using our Facebook and Twitter accounts. Follow us there!

What platforms is Ansa available for?

Ansa is available for Android and iOS.

Where can I find Ansa?

We're on the iTunes Appstore and the Google Play Store.

How do I add friends on Ansa?

Make sure Ansa has access to your contacts by checking your phone's privacy settings. Once contact access is enabled, click the Find and Add friends button at the top right of contact drawer. Select Connect Address Book to sync your contacts and see which friends are online. You can also search for a friend by username, or invite a friend to join.

I forgot my password.

It's ok. Use the password reset option on the login page to reset it and log in.

Can I change my username?

Sorry, no.

Can I block somebody?

Yes, hold down the contact's name in the contact drawer and click “Block User”.

How do I unblock a user?

Click blocked users on the Settings page, then select the person you would like to unblock.

Are screenshots allowed?

Absolutely not. If somebody takes a screenshot of a conversation both parties will be notified, and the person who did not take the screenshot will receive a copy of the screenshot that was captured. Please note disappearing messages are confidential.

What is Synced-Deletion?

Every time you erase a message you sent on Ansa, the messages is removed from both your own phone and that of the recipient. Consider this your undo button.

Can I Sync-Delete a message that was sent to me?

Sorry, no. Each person controls their own content. You can erase the message from your phone, but you can not remove the message from the sender's phone.

What happens if I take a screenshot?

As per our terms of service, you agree protect and treat information shared “Off-the-Record”, or in self-destruct mode as confidential. A breech of this confidentiality could result in legal charges.
Please, no screenshots.

What is a "Self-Destructing" photo or video?

A self-destructing photo or video is a photo or video that can only be viewed for a few seconds before disappearing from both people's phones forever.

How do “Self-Destructing” photos and videos work?

Every time you send a photo, video, or drawing using Ansa you have the option to use the self-destruct feature. Hit the timer symbol, and select the number of seconds you want your message to exist. When the recipient opens the message, the countdown will begin. When the time expires, the message will disappear and erase forever.

What is "Off-the-Record"?

"Off-the-Record" mode allows you to have discussions that disappear in real time. When you are "Off-the-Record", every message exchanged is automatically erased seconds after it has been read.

Can one person be "Off-the-Record" while another person is not?

If one person switches to "Off-the-Record", the other person is automatically switched to "Off-the-Record" too. This way, both people know the whole conversation disappears from both phones.

What happens when i stop chatting “Off-the-Record”?

When you stop chatting “Off-the-Record” the messages you send are saved and stored on both people’s phones. If you change your mind, you can always erase a message using Synced-Deletion.

How long do messages stay on my friends phone while "Off-the-Record?

The messages you send and receive while "Off-the-Record" disappear 60 seconds after they have been read. You can change the time to deletion by tapping the timer icon and selecting a new default. When the time is up, messages disappear from the recipient’s phone, then yours.

Do you save the things I delete on Ansa?

No. Everything you delete on Ansa is also erased from our servers.

How do I know the messaged I say to delete are also deleting from my friends's phone?

When you tell a message to erase using our self-destruct timer, or “Off the Record” mode, it will not disappear from your phone until it has been erased from the recipient’s phone. When it leaves your phone, you know it’s been erased from your friend’s phone too.

Why are my "Off-the-Record" messages still on my phone?

The messages you send while “Off-the-Record” stay on your phone until they disappear from the recipient’s phone, so you know they have been deleted successfully.

Do you look at my messages?

No. Every message is encrypted, and can not be viewed by us.

I have a different question.

Send us an email. We’d love to hear from you. [email protected]